Ballot yields new Alumni Council members, trustees

Results of the 2000 alumni ballot have been announced by the Office of Alumni and Parent Relations and Annual Funds. The names of the two new alumni trustees and four new members of Alumni Council were to be made public at the annual Alumni Awards Luncheon during Reunion Weekend.

The new trustees, who will serve a nonrenewable four-year term, are Brackett B. Denniston '69 and Ellen C. Turner '80.

Denniston, of Fairfield, Connecticut, is vice president in charge of litigation and compliance mattress worldwide for the General Electric Company. A graduate of Harvard Law School and former chief legal counsel for Governor William F. Weld of Massachusetts, he has also been a partner in a law firm and a prosecutor in charge of white-collar crime for the U.S. Attorney's Office, both in Boston. Denniston has been an active volunteer for the College since graduation, serving as a member of Alumni Council from 1991 to 1994 and currently working as a career-network and admissions volunteer. He has been a class agent for his class, chair of his tenth, fifteenth, and twentieth class reunions, and a committee member for each of his reunions. Denniston, who has also served as a regional association officer, was a recipient of the Distinguished Service Award in 1983 and the Extern Sponsor Award in 1987. He has been involved in numerous other volunteer activities in his stints in the public and private spheres, including service as chair of various bar, governmental, and local committees.

Turner, of Northfield, Massachusetts, is director of student services at Northfield Mount Hermon School. She has also been a teacher and counselor at the Peddie School in New Jersey and at Northfield Mount Hermon and an associate director of admissions at Kenyon. Turner, who earned a master's degree from Harvard University after leaving the College, has served as vice president and president of Alumni Council and as an admissions chair. A member of her fifth, tenth, and fifteenth class-reunion committees, she is currently a member of her twentieth-reunion committee and a career-network volunteer. In 1995, Turner was a recipient of the Alumni Admissions Award. Her other activities include service on the board of Dial-Self, a community organization working with at-risk youth.

Those elected to Alumni Council on the 2000 ballot are David S. Barrie '74, R. Hutchins Hodgson Jr. '61, Mary Kay Karzas '75, and Yiji Shen Starr '91.

Barrie, of Moreland Hills, Ohio, and Hong Kong, is vice president for the Asia/Pacific region for the Eaton Corporation. A member of his twentieth- and twenty-fifth reunion committees, he served as gift chair for both reunions. Barrie led the Class of 1974 as it won the Thomas Cup for the largest gift and set the record for a twentieth-reunion gift and again as it won the cup for its twenty-fifth reunion class with the largest class gift in Kenyon history. A past president of the Toledo Regional Association, he has also been an admissions and phonathon volunteer. Barrie has been active as a member and trustee of numerous charitable and civic boards and organizations during his career.

Hodgson, of Atlanta, Georgia, is chairman and chief executive officer of Paradise Foods, Inc., which has franchised Heavenly Ham stores throughout the United States. Holder of an M.B.A. from the Harvard Business School, he formerly worked for the Coca-Cola Company, advancing from an executive trainee-ship through twenty-three years of increasingly demanding management positions in Canada, South Africa, England, Belgium, France, the United States, and Hong Kong and ending as vice president of marketing for the Far East. Hodgson currently serves as a class agent and as an admissions and career-network volunteer. In 1996, he served on his thirty-fifth reunion committee. A member of the Kenyon Athletic Association, Hodgson was inducted into its Hall of Fame in 1999.

Karzas, of Culver, Indiana, is in her fifteenth year at the Culver Academies, where she is deputy director of development, working with Culver's $150-million capital campaign. Until July 1998, she directed the Culver annual funds, which generated more than $2.3 million annually. Karzas has also been director of development and alumni relations at Chatham Hall in Virginia and assistant director of alumni affairs and assistant director of development at Kenyon. A class agent, she has been active as an admissions, career-network, and phonathon volunteer, as a member of her twentieth- and twenty-fifth-reunion committees, and as chair of the Chicago Regional Association. Karzas was awarded the Distinguished Service Award in 1977 and the D. Morgan Smith Award for Outstanding Class Agent in 1995. Since 1984, she has been involved with the Council for Advancement and Support of Education activities, especially District Five, for which she serves as chair.

Starr, of New York City, is a senior manager for Ernst and Young. A fellow of the Society of Actuaries, she also serves as an actuarial consultant to life-insurance companies. Starr is a member of the New York City Regional Association Steering Committee as well as a career-network volunteer. She is a former member of the Columbus Regional Association Steering Committee and a past admissions chair. Starr and her husband, David H. Starr '90, chief technology officer with the Blue Dolphin Group, have a six-year-old daughter, Emily.

Appointed to Alumni Council as the recent-graduate representative is Kathleen S. Birck '00 of Sykesville, Maryland, who will be a student in the nurse-practitioner program at the University of Pennsylvania.

Other members of Alumni Council, in addition to those just elected, are: J. Edward Ball '88 of New York City, a playwright and writer; John J. Buckley Jr. '66 of Murphysboro, Illinois, president and chief executive officer of Southern Illinois Healthcare; Donald G. May '42 H'98 of Kalamazoo, Michigan, medical director of Visiting Nurse and Hospice Services there; Megan O'Donnell Patton '84 of Fairview Park, Ohio, a manager with Ernst and Young; Deborah Johnson Reeder '85 of Mount Vernon, Ohio, an ophthalmologist with Central Ohio Eye Surgeons; William P. Russell '62 P'91 of St. Charles, Illinois, a certified financial planner with Advance Capital Management; Jonathan E. Tazewell '84 of Gambier, an assistant professor of drama at Kenyon; Samuel P. Todd Jr. '47 P'76 of Cincinnati, Ohio, a retired physician; Eileen Shaver Tuttle '86 of Plain City, Ohio, who is self-employed with Digital Xesto; Lisa M. Volpe '88 of Washington, D.C., a wireless regulatory analyst with AT&T Wireless Services; and William C. Wallace '57 P'92 of Short Hills, New Jersey, president of Aquila Distributors and executive vice president of Aquila Management Corporation.

Current alumni trustees, in addition to those just elected, are Jack Y. Au '73 H'96 of East Northport, New York, executive vice president of Fleet Financial Group; James G. Carr '62 P'91 of Toledo, Ohio, a U.S. District Judge; Ulysses B. Hammond '73 H'95 of New London, Connecticut, vice president for administration at Connecticut College; Julia F. Johnson '73 of Columbus, Ohio, senior vice president of Banc One Corporation; Neal M. Mayer '63 P'92 of Bethesda, Maryland, senior partner in the law firm of Hoppel, Mayer, and Coleman; and Tanna L. Moore '76 P'00 of Minneapolis, Minnesota, vice president/general manager for marketing with Ceridian Corporation.

Completing their service as members of Alumni Council are A. Mathilda Bode '99 of Evanston, Illinois, Wayne H. Borges '41 of Carlisle, Pennsylvania, Laurie A. Cole '89 of San Francisco, California, Patricia Homans Dillon '85 of Chicago, Illinois, James E. D'Orazio '73 of Solon, Ohio, Andrew D. Keyt '91 of Chicago, Illinois, and N. Preston Lentz '72 of Nashville, Tennessee.

Back to Top