Five faculty members win Whiting Awards

In recognition of their excellence in teaching, five Kenyon assistant professors have received Whiting Awards for the 2003-04 academic year. Pamela Camerra-Rowe of the political science department has been awarded a Whiting teaching fellowship. Whiting summer scholarship stipends, meanwhile, have been awarded to Jesse Matz of the English department, Natalia Olshanskaya, who teaches Russian in the modern languages and literatures department, and Devin Stauffer of the political science department. A Whiting research grant went to Assistant Professor of Art History Kristen Van Ausdall.

The awards are funded by a grant from the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation to recognize outstanding teaching in the humanities and to support the scholarship of junior, tenure-track faculty members.

Camerra-Rowe will take a full-year junior leave to pursue a scholarly project. Her award includes a $10,000 travel and research fund. Matz, Olshanskaya, and Stauffer will each be provided with stipends of $6,000 to support research and writing. Van Ausdall will receive $6,800 in support of her research in Italy.

During Camerra-Rowe's fellowship year, she will pursue her interest in changes in the lobbying strategies of European business over the past two decades in response to European integration, as well as the impact of European integration and monetary union on European political parties. Matz will research a book on the cognitive effects of narrative temporality--the way narrative teaches us about time.

Olshanskaya will be working on a book entitled Russian Writers on Translation. Stauffer plans to continue work on his book about Plato's Gorgias. Van Ausdall will study the origins and purpose of the revival of classicism in the art of early-Renaissance Italy.

Award recipients are chosen by the College's Office of the Provost and selected senior faculty members in the humanities.