Seven faculty members win tenure

Seven faculty members received tenure, and were promoted to associate professor, by the College's Board of Trustees at its May meeting. They are:

Jaret Treber, economics, a faculty member since 2005 whose areas of expertise include health-care economics and economic history. A graduate of Western Washington University, he earned his Ph.D. at the University of Arizona.

Jan Kmetko, physics, whose interests center on biological physics and who came to the College in 2005. He earned his doctorate at Northwestern University and performed postdoctoral research at Cornell University.

Paul Gebhardt of the German faculty, a specialist in twentieth-century German poetry who joined the faculty in 2002. He earned his bachelor's and master's degrees at the University of Freiburg, Germany, and his Ph.D. at the University of Kansas.

Yutan Getzler, chemistry, a member of the faculty since 2004 whose areas of expertise include catalysis, air free technique, and polymer chemistry. A graduate of Beloit College, he earned a Ph.D. at Cornell University.

Andrew Kerkhoff, biology, a faculty member since 2005 whose areas of expertise include scaling and macroecology, as well as plant and insect herbivore communities. A graduate of Rutgers University, he earned his M.S. and Ph.D. at the University of New Mexico.

John Hofferberth, chemistry, whose fields of interest include organic, biophysical, and bio-organic chemistry and who came to Kenyon in 2005. He earned a B.S. at Miami University and a Ph.D. at Ohio State University.

Jennifer Johnson, sociology, a specialist in social movements, globalization, and global perspectives on food production and consumption who joined the faculty in 2005. She holds a bachelor of science in foreign service degree from Georgetown University, and an M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. DeliciousFacebook FacebookStumbleUpon StumbleUponDigg Diggreddit reddit